Faculty Awards

Pamela Roby is the recipient of the 2016 Lee Founders Award of the Society for the Study of Social Problems. The award was presented "in recognition of significant achievements, that over a distinguished career have demonstrated a long-time devotion to the ideals of the founders of this Society, and especially to the humanistic tradition of sociology exemplified in the contributions of Elizabeth Briant Lee and Alfred McClung Lee for whom this award was named."

Andrew Szasz is the 2011 recipient of the Frederick Buttel Distinguished Contribution Award of the Environment, Technology, and Society section of the American Sociological Association. The award is the highest honor bestowed in American environmental sociology. He is the author of Ecopopulism: Toxic Waste and the Movement for Environmental Justice (1994) and Shopping Our Way to Safety: How We Changed from Protecting the Environment to Protecting Ourselves (2007). Critics and peers lauded both books. Ecopopulism won the Association for Humanist Sociology book award in 1995. In 2000, it was named one of the 10 most influential books in environmental sociology. The Buttel award is named for Frederick Buttel, a professor of rural sociology at the University of Wisconsin–Madison. It was established after his death at age 56 in 2005 to recognize individuals for outstanding service, innovation, or publication in environmental sociology or sociology of technology.

Deborah Gould received the 2010 Ruth Benedict Book Prize from the Association for Queer Anthology, and the Distinguished Contribution to Scholarship Best Book Award, Political Sociology Section of the American Sociological Association, 2010 for her book, Moving Politics: Emotion and ACT UP’s Fight Against AIDS (University of Chicago Press, 2009).

Miriam Greenberg received the Robert Park Award from the American Sociological Association in 2009 for the best book on community and urban sociology published in the last two years, Branding New York: How a City in Crisis was Sold to the World (New York/Routledge, 2008).

Steven McKay received the 2007 Sociology of Labor Book Award from the American Sociological Association for his book, Satanic Mills or Silicon Islands? The Politics of High-Tech Production in the Philippines (Cornell University/ILR Press, 2006).

E. Melanie DuPuis received the 2005 Frederick H. Buttel Outstanding Scholarship Award from Rural Sociological Society for her book, Nature’s Perfect Food (New York University Press, 2002).

Julie Bettie received the 2004 Outstanding Achievement in Scholarship Award in Race, Gender, and Class Studies and the Sex and Gender Distinguished Book Award from the American Sociological Association for her book Women Without Class: Girls, Race, and Identity (University of California Press, 2003). Also was awarded the AESA Critics Choice Award from the American Educational Studies Association, 2003.

Dana Takagi received the 1993 National Book Award from the Association for Asian American Studies's, Social Science for her book The Retreat from Race: Asian American Admissions and Racial Politics (Rutgers University Press, 1993).